If you're texting, you're not driving."
The cost of distractionThere are many costs related to distracted driving. You can be fined for breaking state law. Each state’s fines vary:
- In Alaska, the maximum penalty for first-time offense is $10,000 and a year in jail.
- In California, the minimum fine for first-time offenders is $20.
Apart from fines and jail time, there are insurance costs. Each insurance company has its own definitions and ways of dealing with distracted driving. No matter what the cause, if you are in an accident your insurance rates are likely to increase, especially as a young driver.
The ultimate cost related to distracted driving is impossible to assign a dollar value to—the cost of a human life. If you drive while distracted and cause an accident that kills someone, there’s no way to put a value on how much that person’s life was worth.
Take the pledge
Commit today to keeping your hands on the wheel.
As a new driver, there are so many more things you need to focus on than what your friend just texted you. It’s hard enough to focus on the traffic around you than to also focus on texting.
Pledge to make your car a distraction-free zone. This includes cellphones, eating, drinking, changing music—and friends. Make it clear to them that, when you are driving, you need to focus.
And when you are riding in friends cars, do not distract them; make sure they are focused on the road as well. It’s your life at stake, too.